Big surface solutions main

Oerlikon Metco —

Post Merger Brand Integration

It has been official since June 3, 2014: Oerlikon Balzers and Sulzer Metco – now Oerlikon Metco – have merged to become the global technology leader in surface solutions. With 6000 employees, CHF 1.2 billion turnover, a leading range of offers and over 110 coating centres worldwide, this is now the largest business segment of our long-term customer, Oerlikon.

Hotz Brand Consultants supported the complex process of post-merger brand integration with an interdisciplinary team, working with our sister companies in the Brand Leadership Circle. The whole spectrum of brand-relevant measures was implemented under one roof:

from the storyline positioning the new organization and the resulting internal and external communication measures, through to qualifying the customer organization in the efficient global integration of all brand touch points into the Oerlikon Corporate Design.

Project definition —

The start of every change process brings up questions

How do you handle the rebranding of a global organization with thousands of touch points? How do you manage this within a short space of time (due to antitrust law regulations) as well as a limited sphere of action? How do you convey the “relaunch” of a leading global organization to all internal and external stakeholders? And how do you use the unique rebranding opportunity to convince the employees, partners and customers to take the new path together?

Small key message

Success factors —

Joining forces to achieve objectives

Medium projectteam

– A team: close, open and trusting collaboration between the client project team and the consultant project teams

– Central management of all content, creative and detail projects under one roof

– Systematic approach based on a clearly structured process, in which all measures are planned in detail and are firmly fixed

– Guiding principle «Lead and Empower» for the optimal division of labour between the global and local client teams and the consultant project teams

– Clear allocation of tasks according to competence and effective handover of responsibilities to the relevant specialists

– Business-minded and self-reliant approach at all levels – from project leader with overall responsibility to graphic designer

Small studio

The results —

Multimedial involvement of all relevant stakeholder groups

Successful communication of the brand integration to all stakeholders, particularly with:

– A central storyline with adaptations for specific target groups

– A CEO newsletter for employees in 18 languages, a welcome movie with CEO address to employees, “how-to” guides and Q&As for five different divisions, special edition of staff magazine for all Oerlikon employees, tools to establish new brand in minds of employees (desktop background, screensaver, give-aways, etc.), posters and displays for global distribution to all locations, global welcome event for the whole «Surface Solutions» family – rollout by time zones from east to west, interactive methods on the web (by our sister company Screen Concept) to back up the event

– For customers: 67 customer letters for 12 customer groups in eight languages, sales tools for global use (company presentation, give-aways, brochures, etc.)

– For investors and media: CEO interview, image movie developed by our sister company Sensorial, PR texts, etc.

Small website welcomeparty

Successful global incorporation of brand touch points into the Oerlikon Corporate Design, particularly with:

⎯ Practical design guidelines providing clear direction for all touch points and communication media to be incorporated or newly designed (online and print publications, products and packaging, trade fairs and events) as the basis for efficient, decentralized rebranding at the global Metco locations

⎯ Coaching of those responsible worldwide for the rebranding on questions of detail or particularly complex assignments

⎯ Efficient incorporation of the electronic Metco templates of over 600 brochures, documents, data sheets, flyers with thousands of pages into the Oerlikon Corporate Design within three months – with the crucial assistance of the online publishing system Censhare from our sister company Mondays, enabling all global specialists to become involved in an efficient workflow

⎯ Distribution of all relevant electronic Oerlikon templates for documents and communication media to the global Metco organizations using the web-based marketing software Brandmaker from our sister company, GateB

Big screensaver

Conclusion —

Integrated approach as key to success

At crunch time, up to 30 people were working around the clock at times in an effort to handle the diverse tasks within the very tight time frame. The successful outcome certainly validates our integrated approach: the really complex challenges are best overcome by a strong team of complementary specialists. We would like to thank Oerlikon Balzers and Oerlikon Metco for their confidence in us and the first-class collaboration.

Small blc team

Big surface solutions main

Oerlikon Metco —

Post-Merger Brand Integration

Seit dem 3. Juni 2014 ist es offiziell: Oerlikon Balzers und Sulzer Metco – jetzt Oerlikon Metco – fusionieren zum globalen Technologieführer für Oberflächenlösungen. Mit 6000 Mitarbeitenden, CHF 1,2 Milliarden Umsatz, einem führenden Angebotsspektrum und über 110 Beschichtungszentren weltweit ab jetzt das grösste Segment unseres langjährigen Kunden Oerlikon.

Hotz Brand Consultants begleitete den komplexen Prozess der Post-Merger Brand Integration in einem interdisziplinären Team zusammen mit unseren Schwesterunternehmen des Brand Leadership Circle. Aus einer Hand wurde das ganze Spektrum der markenrelevanten Massnahmen übernommen:

von der das neue Unternehmen positionierenden Storyline über die sich daraus ableitenden internen und externen Kommunikationsmassnahmen bis zur systembasierten Befähigung der Kundenorganisation in der effizienten Überführung aller Marken-Touchpoints weltweit in das Oerlikon Corporate Design.

Die Aufgabenstellung —

Am Anfang jeder Veränderung stehen Fragen

Wie bewältigt man das Rebranding einer global aufgestellten Organisation mit tausenden von Touchpoints? Wie schafft man dies innerhalb eines aufgrund von wettbewerbsrechtlichen Regularien kurzen Timings sowie eines engen Handlungsspielraums? Wie vermittelt man dabei allen internen und externen Stakeholdern, dass sich hier ein weltweit führendes Unternehmen neu präsentiert? Und wie nutzt man den einmaligen Schritt des Rebranding zur Gewinnung der Mitarbeitenden, Partner und Kunden für den neuen, gemeinsamen Weg?

Small key message

Die Erfolgsfaktoren —

Mit vereinten Kräften zum Ziel

Medium projectteam

⎯ Ein Team: enge, offene und vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Klienten-Projektteam und den Projektteams aufseiten Beratung

⎯ Zentrale Steuerung aller inhaltlichen, gestalterischen und systemischen Detailprojekte aus einer Hand

⎯ Systematische Vorgehensweise anhand eines klar strukturierten Prozesses, in dem alle Massnahmen im Detail und verbindlich geplant werden

⎯ Leitprinzip «Lead and Empower» für eine bestmögliche Arbeitsteilung zwischen den globalen und lokalen Kliententeams sowie den Projektteams aufseiten Beratung

⎯ Eindeutige, kompetenzorientierte Aufgabenzuordnung und faktische Übergabe der Verantwortlichkeiten an die jeweiligen Fachexperten

⎯ Unternehmerisches, selbstverantwortliches Denken und Handeln auf allen Ebenen – vom gesamtverantwortlichen Projektleiter bis zum Polygrafen

Small studio

Die Resultate —

Multimediale Einbindung aller relevanten Stakeholdergruppen

Erfolgreiche Kommunikation der Markenintegration an alle Stakeholder, insbesondere durch:

⎯ Eine zentrale Storyline mit jeweils zielgruppenspezifischen Adaptionen

⎯ Für Mitarbeitende: CEO-Newsletter in 18 Sprachen, Welcome Movie mit direkter Mitarbeiteransprache durch CEO, How-to-Guides und Q&As für 5 verschiedene Divisionen, Sonderausgabe Mitarbeitermagazin für alle Mitarbeitenden von Oerlikon, Verankerungstools für Mitarbeitende (Desktop-Hintergrund, Screensaver, Give-aways etc.), Poster und Displays zur globalen Distribution an allen Standorten, globaler Welcome Event für die ganze «Surface Solutions»-Familie – Rollout nach Zeitzone von Osten bis Westen, Begleitung des Events mit interaktiven Methoden im Web (durch unser Schwesterunternehmen Screen Concept)

⎯ Für Kunden: 67 Kundenbriefe für 12 Kundengruppen in 8 Sprachen, Sales Tools für globalen Einsatz (Company-Präsentation, Give-aways, Broschüren etc.)

⎯ Für Investoren und Medien: CEO-Interview, Image Movie durch unser Schwesterunternehmen Sensorial, PR-Texte etc.

Small website welcomeparty

Erfolgreiche Überführung der Markenkontaktpunkte weltweit in das Corporate Design von Oerlikon, insbesondere durch:

⎯ Konkrete, handlungsleitende Design-Guidelines für alle überzuführenden bzw. neu zu gestaltenden Kontaktpunkte und Kommunikationsmittel (Publikationen online und Print, Produkte und Packaging, Messen und Events) als Basis für ein effizientes, dezentral realisiertes Rebranding an den Metco-Standorten weltweit

⎯ Coaching der für das Rebranding zuständigen Verantwortungsträger weltweit bei Detailfragen oder besonders komplexen Aufgabenstellungen

⎯ Effiziente Überführung der elektronischen Metco-Templates von über 600 Broschüren, Dokumenten, Datenblättern, Flyern mit tausenden von Seiten in das Corporate Design von Oerlikon innerhalb von drei Monaten – entscheidend unterstützt durch das Online-Publishing-System Censhare unseres Schwesterunternehmens Mondays, mit dessen Hilfe alle weltweit involvierten Spezialisten in einen effizienten Workflow eingebunden werden konnten

⎯ Distribution aller relevanten elektronischen Oerlikon-Templates für Dokumente und Kommunikationsmittel an die globale Metco-Organisation mithilfe der webbasierten Marketing-Software BrandMaker durch unser Schwesterunternehmen GateB

Big screensaver

Fazit —

Integrierte Arbeitsweise als Schlüssel zum Erfolg

In der heissen Phase arbeiteten zeitweise bis zu 30 Mitarbeitende rund um die Uhr daran, die vielfältigen Aufgaben der Post-Merger Brand Integration von Oerlikon Metco innerhalb des sehr engen Zeitrahmens zu bewältigen. Der grosse Erfolg bestätigt unseren Ansatz der integrierten Arbeitsweise: Die wirklich komplexen Herausforderungen werden am besten in einem starken Team aus sich ergänzenden Spezialisten bewältigt. Wir danken Oerlikon Balzers und Oerlikon Metco für das Vertrauen und die hervorragende Zusammenarbeit.

Small blc team