Big  saison 2013 bahrain 02

Oerlikon —

Building up a global «Best-in-Class» brand

Oerlikon is a leading international industrial concern with 12 700 employees. In line with its transformation, the objective was to position the company as a global leader in innovation and unite the diverse corporate culture to form a strong identity. Hotz Brand Consultants has been supporting Oerlikon in these endeavours for three years.

Mini oerlikon remscheid moods 7 rgb
Mini oc systems chipmagazine2011 65 rgb
Mini  systems annual report2011 197 bq1

Strategic positioning of corporate brand —

Resolute focus on the reason for success, which is behind all its activities

How do you profile the corporate brand of a global industrial concern which is highly diversified, where their fields of activity change over time, and where their services are already competently represented by the segment or product brands? Oerlikon’s answer: by focusing consistently on the reason for success which is behind all Oerlikon activities: Innovation. Others do that too? But none do it like Oerlikon!

Small  oerlikon group hq pfaeffikon swizerland
Big  hauptgebaeude leuchtwaende

Mobilizing brand communication —

Use maximum power to make the core of the brand distinctive

Rarely before had the topic of innovation been handled more intensively and completely. From all perspectives, on all levels and at all contact points it had to be clear: Oerlikon is innovation! Special effects were achieved by making the impact of Oerlikon’s innovative performance tangible, e.g. by means of the markets and megatrends, using testimonials, by showing the results of successful client partnerships or by depicting the relevance of Oerlikon services in detail for people in their daily lives. Naturally, cutting-edge communications media and technology were used intentionally.

Small oerlikon inserat gross
Small oerlikon inserat
Big oerlikon inserat klein
Medium website mpb
Medium website mobile

Change —

Global in-house brand commitment to strengthen corporate culture

After several turbulent years with various acquisitions and restructuring processes, the self-image and practised values of the corporate culture needed to be strengthened and harmonized. In the course of a two-year international Identity Engagement Programme the common identity was communicated in all divisions, workshops with active participation were held on the topics, and hundreds of brand ambassadors were trained.

The programme was also backed up by an integrated communications programme and orchestrated to a coherent whole. All employees came into contact with the programme and so were able to take the first step into a future with a stronger identity.

Mini  a workshop gruppe
Mini  ambassador
Mini  bes montcada bq1
Big  a identityplakate2 bearbeitet
Big  sauber2

Brand partnerships —

Visibility as global innovation leader

Part of the strategy to position the company as global innovation leader was to establish effective partnerships, in order to give the Oerlikon brand maximum visibility and credibility on the topic of «Innovation». Important partnerships were established which impressively convey Oerlikon’s leading position and innovative strength – such as co-operation with Sauber in Formula 1, the Zurich Fashion Days, and CERN in Geneva.

Small  oerlikon group sponsoring fashion days zurich 2012 2
Small  inserat weirather a4 quer high

Brand Architecture —

Organizing a complex brand portfolio

As a global, highly diversified industrial concern, Oerlikon operates in a wide variety of segments for many different target groups. In the course of the company’s history, a highly complex portfolio has been developed from its own as well as from acquired company, sector and product brands, some of which have very strong brand power. Dynamic growth and ongoing internal reorganization increase the complexity further.

To ensure that Oerlikon can still perform with maximum clarity and power for all target groups – from investors to individual customer groups - scenarios for the future direction of the brand architecture were drawn up and reviewed. Subsequently, the preferred direction was defined in a brand architecture concept, which will help to control and manage the portfolio clearly and efficiently.

The Oerlikon Brandnet —

Efficient organization of global brand management

Medium brandnet

The global concern also needs to attain maximum efficiency and brand consistency in operative brand management. Oerlikon decided to introduce an innovative internet-based brand portal. On the one hand, this enables central administration and worldwide management of all brand-relevant information, guidelines, templates and constantly updated availability. On the other hand, the Marketing Resource Management software BrandMaker offers the opportunity for cost-effective and brand-consistent individualizing of key communications media as well as efficient campaign planning for all groups.

Big  saison 2013 bahrain 02

Oerlikon —

Aufbau einer globalen «Best-in-Class»-Marke

Oerlikon ist ein führendes internationales Industrieunternehmen mit 12 700 Mitarbeitern. Im Rahmen der Transformation des Konzerns sollte das Unternehmen als globaler Innovationsführer positioniert und die heterogene Unternehmenskultur zu einer starken Identität geformt werden. Hotz Brand Consultants begleitet Oerlikon seit drei Jahren auf diesem Weg.

Mini oerlikon remscheid moods 7 rgb
Mini oc systems chipmagazine2011 65 rgb
Mini  systems annual report2011 197 bq1

Strategische Positionierung des Corporate Brands —

Konsequente Fokussierung auf die Erfolgsursache, die hinter allen Aktivitäten steht

Wie profiliert man den Corporate Brand eines globalen Industrieunternehmens, das stark diversifiziert ist, dessen Tätigkeitsfelder über die Zeit wechseln und bei dem die Leistungen schon von Bereichs- oder Produktmarken kompetent vertreten werden? Oerlikons Antwort: indem man sich konsequent auf die Erfolgsursache fokussiert, die hinter allen Oerlikon-Aktivitäten steht: Innovation. Das machen andere auch? Aber keiner so wie Oerlikon!

Small  oerlikon group hq pfaeffikon swizerland
Big  hauptgebaeude leuchtwaende

Mobilisierung der Markenkommunikation —

Den Kern der Marke mit maximaler Kraft spürbar machen

Das Thema Innovation galt es so intensiv und ganzheitlich zu besetzen wie selten zuvor. Aus allen Perspektiven, auf allen Ebenen und an allen Kontaktpunkten sollte spürbar werden: Oerlikon ist Innovation! Besondere Wirkung wurde dabei erzielt, indem man den Impact der Oerlikon-Innovationsleistung konkret greifbar machte, z.B. anhand der Märkte und Mega-Trends, unter Verwendung von Testimonials, durch Darstellung der Ergebnisse erfolgreicher Kundenpartnerschaften oder indem die Relevanz der Oerlikon-Leistungen für das tägliche Leben der Menschen im Detail aufgezeigt wurde. Selbstverständlich war dabei der bewusste Einsatz modernster Kommunikationsmittel und -technologien.

Small oerlikon inserat gross
Small oerlikon inserat
Big oerlikon inserat klein
Medium website mpb
Medium website mobile

Change —

Weltweites internes Brand Engagement zur Stärkung der Unternehmenskultur

Nach einigen turbulenten Jahren mit diversen Akquisitionen und Restrukturierungen sollten das Selbstverständnis und die gelebten Werte der Unternehmenskultur gestärkt und vereinheitlicht werden. Im Rahmen eines zweijährigen internationalen Identity-Engagement-Programms wurde in allen Divisionen die gemeinsame Identität vermittelt, aktiv in Workshops zu den Themen gearbeitet, und hunderte von Markenbotschaftern wurden geschult.

Darüber hinaus wurde das Programm durch ein integriertes Kommunikationsprogramm gestützt und zu einem schlüssigen Ganzen orchestriert. Alle Mitarbeitenden kamen mit dem Programm in Kontakt und konnten so den ersten Schritt in eine Zukunft mit gestärkter Identität machen.

Mini  a workshop gruppe
Mini  ambassador
Mini  bes montcada bq1
Big  a identityplakate2 bearbeitet
Big  sauber2

Brand Partnerships —

Visibilität als globaler Innovationsführer

Im Rahmen der Strategie zur Positionierung als globaler Innovationführer galt es, wirksame Partnerschaften zu etablieren, um der Marke Oerlikon maximale Visibilität und Glaubwürdigkeit zum Thema «Innovation» zu verschaffen. In diesem Rahmen wurden Partnerschaften etabliert, die die führende Stellung und Innovationskraft von Oerlikon eindrucksvoll vermitteln – von der Kooperation mit Sauber in der Formel 1 über die Zürcher Fashion Days bis hin zum Cern in Genf.

Small  oerlikon group sponsoring fashion days zurich 2012 2
Small  inserat weirather a4 quer high

Brand Architecture —

Komplexes Markenportfolio organisieren

Als global aufgestelltes, stark diversifiziertes Industrieunternehmen ist Oerlikon in unterschiedlichsten Segmenten gegenüber den verschiedensten Zielgruppen tätig. Im Laufe der Unternehmens-Historie wurde ein hochkomplexes Portfolio aus eigenen sowie aus akquirierten Unternehmens-, Bereichs- und Produktmarken mit jeweils zum Teil sehr starken Markenkräften aufgebaut. Ein dynamisches Wachstum und laufende interne Reorganisationen erhöhen die Komplexität weiter.

Um sicherzustellen, dass Oerlikon dennoch gegenüber allen Zielgruppen – von den Investoren bis zu den einzelnen Kundengruppen – jeweils mit maximaler Klarheit und Kraft auftreten kann, wurden Szenarien zur zukünftigen Ausrichtung der Markenarchitektur erarbeitet und bewertet. Für die präferierte Stossrichtung wurde anschliessend ein Markenarchitektur-Konzept ausgearbeitet, mit dessen Hilfe das Portfolio klar geregelt und effizient geführt werden kann.

Das Oerlikon Brandnet —

Effiziente Organisation des globalen Brand Managements

Medium brandnet

Höchste Effizienz und Markenkonsistenz sollte die global aufgestellte Organisation auch im operativen Brand Management erzielen. Oerlikon entschied sich deshalb für die Einführung eines innovativen internetbasierten Markenportals. Es leistet zum einen die zentrale Verwaltung und Pflege aller markenrelevanten Informationen, Guidelines, Templates und ihre stets aktuelle Bereitstellung weltweit. Zum anderen bietet es mithilfe der Marketing-Resource-Management-Software BrandMaker die Möglichkeit zur kostengünstigen und markenkonsistenten Individualisierung wesentlicher Kommunikationsmittel sowie zu einer effizienten, gruppenübergreifenden Kampagnenplanung.